​​​​
IEW_web banner_300x250_1 (1).jpg
International Education Week
November 16 - 20, 2020
TCSPP Global-01.jpg

International Education Week is a national event coordinated by the U.S. Department of State and Department of Education to celebrate and promote international education and exchange. It is a joint initiative to promote programs that prepare Americans for a global environment as well as attract future leaders from abroad to study, learn, and exchange in the U.S. We believe that the more people pursue an international education, the more discoveries are made, global challenges are tackled, and we develop a better understanding of each other.  

Follow TCSPP Global on Instagram (@tcsppglobal) to view photos of International Education Week events!


November 9 – 13, 2020 (Pre-IEW Activity)

​​International Education Week Recipe Book Contest

Since we can't be together in person, we're coming together with our food. Do you have a favorite recipe you learned when studying abroad, a drink you usually drink during the holidays, a fun dessert, a side dish you always bring to a holiday dinner, a recipe related to your heritage or family history? Submit a recipe by Friday, November 13 and we'll put all the recipes together into a cookbook to be shared across the university. Students will vote on their favorites recipes from the cookbook during International Education Week and the top three winners will win a prize! Students from all campuses are invited to participate!

Time: Submissions will be open Monday, November 9 – 13.  Link to submit your recipe: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=wXL6IAYRXUmqH5LLq5iWBtZ3Yf_3LDRFuPHG8jIaSlpUMDBHVFpIRzFaVFMxOFY2UkIyNThMTTdFQy4u

Organizer: Megan Marshall and Ivonne Diaz. Please email Chistudentsupport@thechicagoschool.edu or CAstudentsupport@thechicagoschool.edu for questions.


November 14, 2020 (Pre-IEW Event)​

Virtual Escape Room

A global pandemic doesn't allow us to travel or meet in-person, but that doesn't mean we can't all still connect with and support each other and one way to do that is through working as a team together to solve a virtual escape room! International Programs & Services, TCSPP Global Engagement, and Student Support will be offering 46 spots for this virtual escape room experience (open to both international and domestic students!).

Time: 2:00 – 4:00 PM PST/4:00 – 6:00 PM CST/5:00 – 7:00 PM EST

Zoom Link: Access details will be sent to registered students

Organizer: Cindie Zhou, czhou@thechicagoschool.edu


November 16, 2020

Poster Presentation: Challenges of International Students in Applied Behavior Analysis

This poster highlights administrative, structural, and cultural barriers for international students studying in the United States.

Time: 10:00 – 11:00AM PST/12:00 – 1:00PM CST/1:00 – 2:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/92083712862?pwd=OVRtZ3NiVVhVOXRtVjdBa09JUGp1dz09

Organizer: Sidhant Sehgal ssehgal@ego.thechicagoschool.edu  (co-presenters: Danielle Kennedy, Somchart Sakulkoo)​


Interprofessional education and practice in online education: Applying acculturation psychology through service-learning in Kuwait

This panel presentation highlights four perspectives (administration, course instructor, teaching assistant and PhD student) with regard to an international service-learning project embedded in an online doctoral-level acculturation psychology course. Discussion regarding the rationale, process, and product of the international service-learning project will be addressed as one example of how interprofessional education and practice can be included in course development. Further attention will be spent on identification of skills and competencies gained as a result of participation with other student professionals.

Time: 11:30 – 12:30PM PST/1:30-2:30 PM CST/2:30 – 3:30PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/97035102996?pwd=bHNFY3hKditHQnFzUTNLbDJxSmcyUT09

Meeting ID: 970 3510 2996

Passcode: 832660

Organizer: Dr. Patricia Perez, pperez@thechicagoschool.edu


Workshop – Optional Practical Training (OPT)

Government guidance on OPT process and applications have been on a roller coaster recently. Join Cindie Zhou to review the procedures to apply for OPT and receive some updates on OPT application. 

Time: 11:30 – 12:30PM PST/1:30-2:30 PM CST/2:30 – 3:30PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/91291790076

Organizer: Cindie Zhou, czhou@thechicagoschool.edu


November 17, 2020

​International Perspectives on Educational Innovation during COVID

Join our panel of educators from across the world in a discussion about the innovative strategies they used to address the challenges faced by school systems during the COVID pandemic. We will hear from educators from India, Puerto Rico, Botswana, and the United Arab Emirates about how they maintained student engagement, provided academic instruction, and modified short and long-term plans to respond to this ever-changing situation.  

Time: 7:00 – 8:00AM PST/9:00 – 10:00AM CST/10:00 – 11:00AM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/4541858601

Organizer: Dr. Breeda McGrath, bmcgrath@thechicagoschool.edu


How to Study Abroad with TCSPP

COVID-19 cannot stop us from learning. Our commitment to international education is steadfast. Get excited about study abroad programs created by our faculty for field of psychology and at your degree level. Understand the guidelines, eligibility requirement, how to make it degree applicable, how to be eligible for financial aid…Join Cindie Zhou to explore opportunities for a life changing experience.

Time: 10:00 – 11:00AM PST/12:00 – 1:00PM CST/1:00 – 2:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/99350524439

Organizer: Cindie Zhou, czhou@thechicagoschool.edu 


International Student Panel

Come hear about the experiences of TCSPP international students as they talk about their experiences with education in their home countries, their experiences navigating their time studying in the U.S., and more!

Time:  12:00 – 1:00PM PST/2:00 – 3:00 PM CST/3:00 – 4:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/97970795644

Organizer: Megan Marshall, mmarshall1@thechicagoschool.edu


Instagram Live Session: International Study Chat & Raffle

The Washington, D.C. campus is hosting an Instagram Live “International Study Chat & Raffle". During this time, two students will be talking about their experiences with international education. During the Instagram Live Session, there will be a raffle and prizes from locations where our campus has planned Study Abroad trips schedule for next year. ​

Time: 2:00PM PST/4:00PM CST/5:00PM EST

Instagram Handle: tcsppdccampus

Organizer: Matthew Le Brasseur, mlebrasseur@thechicagoschool.edu


November 18, 2020

Learn How to Make a Traditional American Thanksgiving Desert – Apple Pie

Join the DC Campus and Student Success department on Wednesday to learn how to make a traditional American Thanksgiving desert – Apple Pie! Learn to make the dough from scratch, cook apples for the filling, and roll out dough to create hand pies or a traditional pie – your choice!

Time: 9:00 – 10:00AM PST/11:00 – 12:00PM CST/12:00 – 1:00PM EST

Zoom Link: Watch via Instagram Live at https://www.instagram.com/tcsppdccampus/ or by following @tcsppdccampus on Instagram!

Organizer: Lauren Friedman at lfriedman@thechicagoschool.edu


Global Perspectives from Current and Former TCSPP International Students

Please join the Global Enrollment Department and a panel of current and former TCSPP international students for a discussion on topics including, but not limited to-adjusting to a new reality during COVID, global perspectives on the U.S. education experience, shifts in perspectives around mental health services, and others.

Time: 10:00 – 11:00AM PST/12:00 – 1:00PM CST/1:00 – 2:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/91070581848

Organizer: Sabrina Bahir, sbahir@thechicagoschool.edu

Link to Recording​


Break 2 Educate: State of International Students (Open to TCS and Affiliates Staff/Faculty only)

Global Engagement will give the state of international students at TCS affiliates. We will report on the number of international students who study with us, the work staff does to support them, as well as the specific challenges faced in 2020.

Time: 12:00 – 1:00 PM PST/ 2:00 – 3:00 PM CST/ 3:00 – 4:00PM EST

 Zoom Link: Zoom link provided to TCS and Affiliates Staff/Faculty

 Organizer: Madison Carroll, mcarroll@tcsedsystem.edu   


Touching and Impacting the World: Creating a Career as an International Psychologist

This presentation is designed to educate the audience about the plethora of opportunities that exist for International Psychologists as well as how to make one's dreams of positively impacting and changing lives globally a reality.

Time: 1:00 – 2:00PM PST/3:00 – 4:00 PM CST/4:00 – 5:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/97658059032

Organizer: Dr. Roblyn Lewter, rlewter@thechicagoschool.edu  

Link to Recording​


November 19​, 2020

Emotional Intelligence Technology to Empower Learning

Emotional intelligence (EQ) / Social-emotional learning (SEL) is academically proven to increase learning, relationships, career, and life success.  EQ/ SEL technology can make learners smarter and happier, making learning easier, faster, and healthier- learn how.  Gain access to the most comprehensive EQ assessment for free.  Be one of the first to see EQ adaptive technology.  Join and see how EQ assessments and EQ adaptation will change learning and can benefit the classroom, remote learning, or homeschool.  

Time: 8:00 – 9:00AM PST/10:00 – 11:00AM CST/11:00 – 12:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/92452479349?pwd=c1NyUmIyR3JEOXMvWHBEdU1hNDNrdz09 Passcode: 33333

Organizer: Michael Schneider, 2019 Global Psychologist & Start-ups Scholarship recipient; mschneider@ego.thechicagoschool.edu ​​

Link to Recording​


Should I travel during the winter break? It is so messy!

Should I travel abroad during this winter break? What should I consider before I make my decision? Chat with your PDSO/RO about your travel plan and What Ifs. This session will include a short presentation on currrent guidelines followed by a Q&A session.

Time: 3:00 – 4:00PM PST/5:00 – 6:00PM CST/6:00 – 7:00PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/9497694199

Organizer: Cindie Zhou, czhou@thechicagoschool.edu


November 20, 2020​

GLOBE Talk: How Institutions Implement the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals: A Focus on SDG 3 & 4

In September 2015, the United Nations unanimously adopted the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to shape international efforts to promote a sustainable, peaceful, and equitable world by 2030. The SDGs offer a new way of positioning universities, and all of us who work in them, within the world. This session will discuss ch​allenges and opportunities for universities e​ngaging with the SDGs, specifically SDG 3 & 4, with a methodological focus on measurement.

Time: 9:00 – 10:00AM PST/11:00 – 12:00PM CST/12:00 – 1PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcsc-6trzwtE9Z9JS9Q7Hn8Tk4bej5ixYzy

Organizers: Prof. Alejandro Molina Garcia, MD, Vasco de Quiroga University, Mexico (Presenter) Madison Carroll, mcarroll@tcesedsystem.edu (event lead)


Discourses of Black Women Professors in Two South African Universities

This webinar will focus on a combination of critical race and critical consciousness theories and the concepts of community cultural wealth and empowerment.  An overview of a research study that utilized Foucauldian discourse analysis to generate three dominant discourses used by the Black women professors will be shared. The thesis of this research brings to light how a victim of educational and professional disempowerment discourse, a persistent resilience discourse, and an empowered to empower discourse intersect in and construct Black women professors' identities and personal/professional journeys and trajectories.

Time: 9:00 – 10:00AM PST/11:00 – 12:00PM CST/12:00 – 1PM EST

Zoom Link: https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/93132609939?pwd=NmZDclNTbFNPeEQyK2V4MFpQb2ZhUT09 ​​​

Organizers: Dr. Ncami Zulu from South Africa; Dr. Kelly Torres, ktorres@thechicagoschool.edu 

Link to Recording​


International Alumni Panel & Networking

Celebrate International Education Week with TCSPP alumni! Join us for an International Alumni Panel hosted by the TCSPP International Alumni Council on November 20 from 11am-12pm CDT. Students will have the opportunity to connect with and gain insight from the international alumni community, including former TCSPP international students working in the U.S. and alumni working internationally.

Time: 10:00 – 11:00AM PST/12:00 – 1:00PM CST/1:00 – 2:00PM EST

Zoom Link: Register here to receive the Zoom link and submit your questions for our alumni panelists.

Organizer: Alyse Faour, afaour@thechicagoschool.edu


DSO Professional Development

DSOs gather to discuss about current evolving regulatory guidelines and have some understanding of I-17 process and TCSPP's I-17 updates. 

Time: 11:30 – 12:30PM PST/1:30 – 2:30PM CST/2:30 – 3:30PM EST

Zoom Link: Link is shared with DSOs

Organizers: Dr. Jennifer Fullick, jfullick@tcsedsystem.edu; Cindie Zhou, czhou@thechicagoschool.edu ​


November 21​, 2020

​International Recipe Cook Book – Voting Due

Recipe submissions will take place November 9 – 13, after which point we will compile all recipes into a digital cookbook. From there, we will send the recipes to all students and have them vote on their favorite recipes! The top three recipes with the most votes will win a $50 voucher to the TCSPP bookstore and the winning recipe will also receive a $50 Amazon gift card in addition to the voucher!


IEW Recipe Book 2020 - Final.pdf


Voting Link: Link to vote for favorite recipe can be found here​. 

Organizer: Megan Marshall, mmarshall1@thechicagoschool.edu​







​​

















Contact Us

Office of Internationl Programs
​(800) 595-6938​​, Option 6
​​​​​​​​​​​​