May is Title IX Month!

 

Throughout the month of May, the Title IX team is hosting a contest, workshops, webinars, and other activities to educate the community about sexual misconduct and TCSPP's Title IX policy! Some activities include a Zoom Background Day, a panel discussion on Balancing Pregnancy, Parenting, and Graduate School, and a workshop on Healthy Relationships and Consent. Keep an eye on your email for more information!

 

Throughout the month of May, the TCSPP community is encouraged to use the Title IX Month Zoom backgrounds, attached to each Title IX month email and posted on the Title IX Website (here).

 

Use the official TitleIX Month Hashtag: #TCSPPTitleIX

 

Playlist Contest

Deadline: May 24; Winners Announced: May 31

Remember back in the day when you'd make a mixtape for your friends and burn it to a CD (or maybe a cassette for some of you)? Well now is your chance to relive your youth! Make a playlist of your favorite songs related to Title IX. They can be songs written by advocates for sexual assault awareness, empowering songs, songs inspired by actual events, or more! Here's how to enter:

  • Create a playlist on Spotify or YouTube of 10 to 20 songs.
  • Email TitleIX@thechicagoschool.edu the title and link to your playlist.
  • Include a brief description of your playlist.

You have until Monday, May 24, 2020 to submit your playlist. Winners will receive a gift card and their playlist will be featured on the Title IX Website.

 

Title IX Question and Answer Session

May 13 – 9am PST/11amCST/12pm EST

May 28– 3pm PST/5pm CST/6pm EST ​

https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/91024720884?pwd=NjJuNnVzcm1vN2lJYWQxYm9CZCtEQT09

Question and Answer session with Dr. Lauren Friedman, Deputy Title IX Coordinator, around TCSPP's Title IX and Student Pregnancy and Related Conditions policies. Bring your questions!

 

Healthy Relationships and Consent

Presented by Elizabeth Meyer, LCSW from Greenlight Family Services

May 20, 5pm PST/7pm CST/8pm EST

https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/91035024636?pwd=VDJlWVRHM1llSjNnclk0ang5N1B6dz09

This workshop explores the behaviors related to healthy, unhealthy, and abusive relationships. It also discusses the importance of sexual consent within relationships, what consent looks like, and ways to navigate conversations around consent. It includes local and campus specific crisis resources.

Denim Day

May 21 – All Campuses via Zoom and Instagram Hashtag

Take a photo of yourself wearing Denim (wherever you are!) and post it to Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #TCSPPTitleIX. One participant will be chosen to win a gift card.

 

The Denim Day campaign began after a ruling by the Italian Supreme Court in which a rape conviction was overturned because the justices felt that since the victim was wearing tight jeans she must have helped the person who raped her remove her jeans, thereby implying consent. The following day, the women in the Italian Parliament came to work wearing jeans in solidarity with the victim.

 

Peace Over Violence developed the Denim Day campaign in response to this case and the activism surrounding it. Since then, wearing jeans on Denim Day has become a symbol of protest against erroneous and destructive attitudes about sexual harassment, abuse, assault and rape. In this sexual violence prevention and education campaign we ask community members to make a social statement by wearing jeans on this day as a visible means of protest against the misconceptions that surround sexual violence.

 

Panel Presentation: Balancing Pregnancy, Parenting, and Graduate School Panel

May 25 – 3pm PST/5pm CST/6pm EST

https://tcsedsystem.zoom.us/j/99554438443?pwd=dHNsNzUrYmNQUnVGdG16NDRrSXVJdz09

Ever wondered how to balance pregnancy, parenting, and graduate school? This panel has been there! Meet TCSPP Students who have gone through this experience and talk to them about their advice, best practices, and anything else!

 

Zoom Background Day

May 31 – All campuses via Zoom or other virtual meeting platforms

Throughout the month of May, the TCSPP community is encouraged to use the Title IX Month Zoom backgrounds, attached to each Title IX month email and posted on the Title IX Website (here). On the last day of the month, let's acknowledge all that we have learned by having the whole community use a Title IX Month background!


​​Title IX Month Zoom Backgrounds​

Title IX Zoom Backgrounds 1.png
Title IX Zoom Backgrounds 2.png
Title IX Zoom Backgrounds 3 (2).png
Title IX Zoom Backgrounds 4.png